Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup pool games end and quarterfinal teams emerge.

The second day of the Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup national finals ended at the Giant Stadium in Soshanguve on Tuesday and, with all 18 teams having played their five round-robin pool games, the teams going through to the quarterfinals have emerged.

The top two sides from each of the three pools go through automatically, with the two third-placed teams with the best goal difference filling the remaining two quarter-final slots.

On that basis, Free Sate’s Harmony High School – the most successful school in the 10 year history of the tournament;-  Western Cape’s Mondale and KwaZulu-Natal champions, Tholokuhle, go through as pool leaders, with St Mark’s (Mpumalanga), Lingelihle (Eastern Cape) and Kwa-Shuku (Mpumalanga) taking the second place slots.

The other two quarterfinal places will go to Holy Trinity (Gauteng) and AJ Ferreira (Western Cape).

Tholokuhle and Mondale were the most impressive sides on show in the preliminary rounds. They both won four and drew one of their five pool matches. Harmony won three and drew two of their five.

Mondale is the school that hosts the Ajax Youth Academy, Holy Trinity hosts the Supersport United Academy while the players in the Harmony Sports Academy go to Harmony High School. Tholokuhle is a regular school, with no players associated with a professional academy in their ranks.

Quarterfinal fixtures
9:00         Tholokuhle vs AJ Ferreira
St Marks vs Kwa-Shuku
10:15:    Harmony vs Holy Trinity
                Mondale vs Lingelihle
The remainder of the teams will play for places

Results of day 2:
1.       Desmond Tutu 1 vs Matlaisane 0
Goal:  Anele Alla
2.       Tholokhule 1 vs Kwa-Shuku 0
Goal:  Senzo Mbatha
3.       AJ Ferreira 3 vs Sebetwane 3
Goals:  Virghel Koopman, Wesley Visagie, Pidgurcian Titus (AJ)
Goasl:  Tebogo Serima (2), Kgosietsile Motshane
4.       Mondale 0 vs Umqhele 0
5.       Lingelihle 0 vs Okiep 0
6.       Benny’s 0 vs Walmer 2
Goals:  Vutolwethy Ndokweni, Yondelani Kamana
7.       St Marks 3 vs Tlokola 0
Goals:  Xolani Ndlovu (2), Nkosinathi Mchunu
8.       Harmony  2 vs Makikele 1
Goals:  Victor Noosi, Buti Mokele (Harmony)
Goals:  Theo Malatji (Mak)
9.       Holy Trinity 0 vs Thaba Jabula 0
10.   AJ Ferreira 1 vs Kwa-Shuku 3
Goals:  Virghel Koopman (AJ)
Goals:  Senzo Mdlalose, Bandile Molaba, Lindokuhle Sukazi (KS)
11.   Tholokuhle 1 vs Desmond Tutu 0
Goal:  Thathani Nkosi
12.   Sebetwane 3 vs Matlaisane 0
Goals:  Mosimanegape Lobatse, Itumeleng Mosikane (2)
13.   Okiep 0 vs Walmer 0
14.   Mondale 1 vs Benny’s  0
Goal:  Kyle Adriaanse
15.   Lingelihle 1 vs Umqhele 0
Goal:  Ndimphiwe Haki
16.   Holy Trinity 0 vs St Marks 1
Goal:  Nkosinathi Mchunu
17.   Makikele 1  vs Tlokola1
Goal:  Theo Malatji (Mak)
Goal:  Moiloa Maluka (Tlo)
18.   Harmony 1 vs Thaba Jabula 1
Goal:  Voctor Noosi (Har)
Goal:  Musa Ngqokoma (TJ)
19.   Matlaisane 0 vs AJ Ferreira 2
Goals:  Wesley Visagie, Juvian Brekfis
20.   Sebetwane 1 vs Tholokuhle 1
Goal:  Itumeleng Mosikane (Seb)
Goal:  Senzo Mbatha (Tholo)
21.   Kwa-Shuku 1  vs Desmond Tutu 0

Goal:  Lindokuhle Sukazi

No comments:

Post a Comment