Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Yaseen Valli to lead the 2013 SA Schools team

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Friday, announced the South Africa Schools side to be lead by King Edward VII’s (KES) Yaseen Valli at the closing function of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week at Kearsney College in Durban. The side includes no less than eight players of colour, which was more than the target set to convenor Linda Zondi and his selection panel.

Zondi is satisfied that the best players in the tournament were selected for both the SA Schools and SA Colts sides. He said: “What’s important is to see the diversity of the team and the talent that we have in South Africa. This shows that CSA is in a good space and cricket is in a healthy space and can produce quality players that can go on to be selected for franchise and national teams.”

For the first time since 1994, KES has produced a South Africa Schools' captain in Valli. Neil McKenzie was the last old boy to captain the schools’ side and before him, the previous captain produced by KES was Lee Barnard, who captained the side twice in 1973 and 1974.

Valli is proud to be selected for the SA Schools side and is honoured to be trusted with the captaincy job.

“It’s a massive honour for me to be chosen to captain the side,” he said. “This is the perfect opportunity for me to test my skills against better guys, I’m really chuffed for this opportunity.”

Valli lead Gauteng to a thrilling, two-wicket victory over Western Province in the final of the tournament. He is impressed with the way his side took on their formidable opponent, fighting to the end to produce the win.

“We knew we wouldn’t get as many opportunities as we would like with all the rain, but the guys really looked after themselves well and were mentally prepared and in the end we were able to pull off a really good win,” he continued.

Three players from Rondebosch Boys' High in Cape Town made the SA Schools' side. The trio include Dayyaan Galiem, Matthew Christensen and Zubayr Hamza.

Next year's Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week will be hosted by Pretoria. 

South African Schools XI:
Yaseen Valli (King Edward VII, Gauteng - Captain), Bradley Bopp (Grey Boys' High School, Eastern Province), Driaan Bruwer (Affies, Northerns), Matthew Christensen (Rondebosch Boys' High, Western Province), Clyde Fortuin (St. Joseph's College, Western Province), Dayyaan Galiem (Rondebosh Boys' High, Western Province, Zubayr Hamza (Rondebosch Boys' High, Western Province), Andile Phehlukwayo (Glenwood, KwaZulu-Natal), Kagiso Rabada (St. Stithian's College, Gauteng), Ngazibini Sigwili (Hudson Park, Border), Keith Dudgeon (Parktown Boys' High, Gauteng - 12th man).

SA Colts:
GM Bruwer (Noord-Kaap, Griqualand West - Captain), Daniël Griesel (HTS Middelburg, Mpumalanga), Wickus Germishuizen (Hugenote, Easterns), Sohail Mahmood (Maritzburg College, KwaZulu-Natal Inland), Mbulelo Mama (St. Andrew's College, Eastern Province), Richard Maree (York High, South Western Districts), Dustin Melton (Pretoria Boys' High, Northerns), Paballo Mogoera (Louis Botha, Free State), Rivaldo Moonsamy (St. Alban's College, Northerns), Jason Oakes (Westville Boys' High, KwaZulu-Natal), Jay Stevens (Rondebosch Boys' High, Western Province), Sithembele Langa (Sakhisizwe, Border – 12th man).


Highest Run Scorer of the Week:

Grant Roelofsen (King Edward VII – Gauteng)

Highest Wicket taker of the Week:

Richard Maree (York High – South Western Districts)

Catch of the Week:

Clyde Fortuin (St. Joseph’s College – Western Province)

Spirit of the Week:

The Border team

All-rounder of the Week:
Bradley Bopp

Cricketer of the Week:

Clyde Fortuin (St. Joseph’s College – Western Province)

Summarised Scorecards of Day 5 (Limited Overs):

Western Province 250/7 (Kegan Wheeler 62*, Jean Strydom 45, Zubayr Hamza 41; Kagiso Rabada 2/30); Gauteng 254/8 (Grant Roelofsen 63, Jayden Broodryk 38*, Kagisa Rabada 35*; Dayyaan Galiem 2/41). Gauteng won by two wickets

Eastern Province 254 (Bradley Bopp 101, Lyle Petersen 35; Aphiwe Elembi 4/75); Border 141 (Aubrey Ferreira 32; Bradley Bopp 3/10). Eastern Province won by 113 runs.

KwaZulu-Natal 223/8 (Jason Oakes 75, Mekhalin Naidoo 33); Northerns 227/4 (Danie Rossouw 107*, Driaan Bruwer 44*). Northerns won by six wickets.

Easterns 219 (Wickus Germishuizen 73, Jurie Snyman 43, Reder van Rooyen 33); Mpumalanga 126 (Extras 31; Tumelo Simelane 4/15). Easterns won by 93 runs.

Namibia 158/9 (Gerhard Erasmus 46, Malan Kruger 44; Niel Botha 3/28); Boland 142 (Niel Botha 58; Bredell Wessels 4/14, Tiaan Snyman 3/28). Namibia won by 16 runs.

Free State 219/3 (Hanco Olivier 91*, Sine Ntshona 46*, Ryan du Plessis 36); Griqualand West 167/8 (Maghiel Brits 43, Patrick Kruger 39*; Lyle Heilbron 3/34). Free State won by 52 runs.

South Western Districts 117 (Arno Moolman 19; Eddy Human 4/29); Limpopo 37 (Richard Maree 6/28, Lance Roelfse 3/8). South Western Districts won by 80 runs.

North West 87 (Greg Oldfield 4/22, Nick Elliot 2/9); KwaZulu-Natal Inland 88/4 (Greg Oldfield 33, Hendrik Weyers 4/20). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won by six wickets.



Video highlight packages of Day 5 of the Coca-Cola Khaya Majola Week and audio clips featuring Linda Zondi and Yaseen Valli can be found on the FTP site below

No comments:

Post a Comment