Friday, December 18, 2015



Dylan Aucamp from the Free State has been named the Coca-Cola® Hero of the day for day 1 of the Coca-Cola® Khaya Majola Cricket Week.

The prestigious Coca-Cola® Hero of the Day award is presented on each day of the tournament in recognition of a game changing ‘hero’ moment. Dylan was selected for the award by a Coca-Cola appointed panel of cricket experts after he took a spectacular catch to dismiss the Coca-Cola U19 batsman Wiaan Mulder from Gauteng when he was on 41 and was beginning to score freely and take the score away from the Free State.

“We had just came back from a drinks break, my captain put me at short cover to stop quick singles. We needed to stop Wiaan Mulder and Farhaan Sayanvala who were building a large partnership that was beginning to take the game away from us. Sean Whitehead bowled a ball that was misjudged by Wiaan and I stuck out my hard hoping to take the catch. Next thing I know the ball stuck and Wiaan was out. I was ecstatic, it was a perfect time to take a wicket. Unfortunately it was not good enough to win the match.’ said Dylan.

Dylan Aucamp is now in line for the accolade of Coca-Cola® Hero of the Tournament which will be announced at an award ceremony on the 20th December 2015.

Fetsi Mbele, Coca-Cola South Africa’s Senior Communications Manager: Brand Experience commented, “Congratulations to Dylan Aucamp on being selected as Coca-Cola® Hero of the day for day [INSERT NUMBER] of the Coca-Cola® Khaya Majola Week.  At Coca-Cola we believe that it is essential to put platforms such as the Coca-Cola® Khaya Majola Week, and the Coca-Cola® Schools T20 Challenge, in place for players of all ages to reach their full potential. The Coca-Cola® Khaya Majola Week is Where Heroes Are Made and for many of the players here this week, this is just the beginning of a future in the game.  I look forward to following the likes of Dylan as they carve out a career for themselves in South African cricket”   


Summarized Scorecards:

Gauteng first innings 180 (Farhaan Sayanvala 52, Wiaan Mulder 38; Sean Whitead 6/44, Marno van Greuning 3/17); Free State first innings 123 (Sean Whitehead 23, Kevin Pretorius 23; Conor McKerr 3/24); Gauteng second innings 0/1 decl. (Dillon Aucamp 1/0). Gauteng won on first innings.

Western Province first innings 225/5 decl. (Kyle Verreynne 55*, Murray Commins 43, Aaqil Ebrahim 41; Elnu Potgieter 2/19); Mpumalanga first innings  169/8 (Sinegugu Maseko 41, Siyabonga Mtsweni 37; Junaid Dawood 3/31, Michael Cohen 2/11). Match Drawn.

Eastern Province first innings 139 (Liam Lindsay 64; Dean Foxcroft 5/24, Ruan de Swardt 3/22); Northerns first innings 136/6 (Ruan de Swardt 33*, Willie Ludick 30; Lutho Sipamla 2/19). Match Drawn.

Boland first innings decl. 218/8 (Pieter Pretorius 42, Hannes Venter 36; Todd Walker 3/38, Nevada Jacobs 3/46); South Western Districts first innings 105 (Jean du Plessis 27; Luke Philander 5/39, Byron Fortuin 3/6); Boland second innings decl. 24/1 (Slabber la Grange 10); South Western Districts second innings 63/2 (Richard Papenfus 44*). Boland won on first innings.

KwaZulu-Natal Inland first innings 181/8 decl. (Jiveshen Pillay 62, Gavin Morris 60; Tyron Koen 5/21); KwaZulu-Natal first innings 90 (Jerome Bossr 42; Jean de Wet 5/5, Aashiq Ramdin 2/9). KwaZulu-Natal Inland won on first innings

Border first innings 107 (Mcedisi Malika 29, Axola Ngwana 23*; Tshepo Seroalo 4/22, Ruan Minnaar 3/21); North West first innings 221/4 decl. (Ruan Haasbroek 101*, Vian Maritz 47); Border second innings 43/1 (Mcedisi Malika 31; Hlompho Modimokoane 1/1). North West won on first innings.

Northern Cape first innings 134 (Roché Rossouw 36, Marko de Kock 30; Christmas Mpenyane 4/14); Easterns first innings 161/3 decl. (Kabelo Sekhukhune 50*, CJ van der Walt 34; Percy Seane 2/23); Northern Cape second innings 21/2 (CJ van der Walt 2/4). Easterns won on first innings.

Namibia 177/9 (Francois Rautenbach 48, Chrischen Olivier34; Sahil Patel 4/27, Don Radebe 3/42); Limpopo 114 (Rassie Pretorius 35; Nikolaas Davin 5/3, SJ Loftie-Eaton 3/14). Namibia won by 63 runs.

No comments:

Post a Comment