Monday, September 30, 2013

Sundowns Academy, Clapham High School, win R1 million as 2013 Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup Champions

Gauteng’s Clapham High School took the R1 million first prize after winning the 2013 Sanlam Kay Motsepe Schools Cup.  They beat Louis Botha Technical High School 2 – 0 in the final.  To hand out the trophy was Mr Patrice Motsepe, owner of Mamelodi Sundowns, the club that most of the players belong to.

“I am so happy,” said leading goal scorer, Khayelihle Shozi, who finished on 7 goals. “To play before my president and all the scouts that put me where I am today was an honour.  I wanted to show them that the decision to bring me into the Sundowns Academy was the right one.”

Clapham finished the tournament winning every game they played scoring an impressive 27 goals in 8 games averaging over 3 a game. 

Louis Botha might have finished in second place but they were very pleased with this and the R600 000 that went with it.  Coach, Prince Sani believes that it is not about winning but the experience.  “This is our first time in this tournament and to get this far is fantastic.  Further, I only formed the team this year so they are new and we will keep working and will definitely be back next year.  This is such a good experience for the boys.”

Sani believed that playing in the final against a team that is so tactical and technical  astute only helped his boys see what true professional football is all about.  “We have all loved our trip to Durban and will most definitely go back home wiser footballers.”

Meanwhile Rosina Sedibane Modiba beat Harmony High school 2 – 1 to clinch third place. “We travelled to Durban with Clapham, who beat us to win the provincial finals, and have built a really good relationship with them.  We were hoping to meet them in the final, but finishing third is also good.  The R500 000 will come in handy to further improve the school.

Harmony 0  vs Rosina 2
Goals: Sifiso Nkosi, Kabelo Seriba
Clapham 2 vs Louis Botha 1
CHS:  Avela Cezu, Montoro Monyai
1.             Clapham
2.             Louis Botha
3.             Rosina
4.             Harmony
5.             Mondale
6.             Okiep
7.             Benny’s Sports Academy
8.             Cloetesville
9.             Eric Nxumalo
10.          Freedom Park
11.          Rietvale
12.          Executive Academy
13.          FK Tjiane
14.          Ndamase
15.          Sebetwane
16.          Sibongumusa
17.          Welabasha

18.          East High

No comments:

Post a Comment